September 20, 2019
  1. THE ASSOCIATION shall be called the BEDFORDSHIRE BEEKEEPERS ASSOCIATION (hereafter called ‘the Association’). Its objectives shall be to further the craft of beekeeping and advance the education of the public in apiculture.
  2. In the furtherance of its objectives the Association may engage in trading activities consistent with its charitable status, and operate through the agency of other organisations and individuals based in the U.K. with similar objectives.
  3. (a) Membership shall be open to all beekeepers or persons interested in apiculture subject to the approval of the Executive Committee, and upon the terms contained in Rules made under clause 11 of this Constitution.
    (b) The Executive Committee may only refuse an application for membership if, acting reasonably and properly, they consider it to be in the best interests of the Association to do so.
    (c) The Executive Committee must inform the applicant in writing of the reasons for refusal within 21 days of the decision.
    (d) The Executive Committee must consider any written representations the applicant may make about the decision.  Its decision following any such representations must be notified to the applicant in writing, but shall be final.
    (e)  A member may be removed from membership by a resolution of the Executive Committee that it is in the best interests of the Association that the membership be terminated.  A resolution so to remove a member may only be passed if the member has been given at least 21 days notice in writing of the meeting, the reasons why the resolution is to be proposed, and the opportunity to appear at and make representations to the meeting either in person or by a representative, who need not be a member.
  4. The officers of the Association shall consist of the following members: President, Chairman, Secretary, Treasurer, and other such officers as the Annual General Meeting (AGM) may elect. The President shall be elected for a three-year term. All other officers shall be appointed at an AGM to hold office until the conclusion of the next AGM and be eligible for re-election.
  5. For the purposes of administration the County shall be divided into Districts, each having a District Adviser elected annually at the AGM.
  6. The management of the Association shall be vested in an Executive Committee formed of the above officers, any past President who remains a member of the Association, the District Advisers and up to three members who may be elected at the AGM. Members of the Executive Committee shall be Trustees of the Association. Executive Committee meetings shall be held at least five times a year; the first to be as soon as practicable after the AGM.
  7. The AGM of the Association shall be held in February or March when recommendations from the Executive Committee shall be presented, together with a report from the Chairman on the year’s work and reports from the other officers to include the annual audited accounts and the financial situation of the Association. Any motions from individual members for debate at the AGM shall be lodged with the Secretary not later than the first of January. At least fourteen days written notice of the AGM, together with the business to be transacted, shall be given to all members.  A quorum for an AGM shall be 10% of all members. Voting shall be by show of hands or by ballot if requested by at least 25% of members present.
  8. An Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) of members shall be called by the Secretary on the instruction of the Executive Committee or on the receipt by the Secretary of a written request signed by not less than twenty members stating the precise nature of the business for which such meeting is to be called. At least twenty-one days written notice of the intention to hold an EGM, together with the business to be considered, shall be given to all members. A motion from an individual member to be considered at an EGM shall be lodged with the Secretary at least 28 days before the meeting. A quorum for an EGM shall be 10% of all members. Voting shall be by show of hands or by ballot if requested by at least 25% of members present.
  9. The Chairman may call a meeting of the Executive Committee whenever business may require it. He shall do so when any five Committee members, by notice in writing, so request him.
  10. Five members of the Executive Committee shall form a quorum. All motions at any  meeting shall normally be decided by a show of hands but a ballot shall be allowed if requested by at least five members present. The Executive Committee shall have the power to set up sub-committees, to co-opt members to them and to delegate to them matters within its authority. It may also elect from its members replacement officers to fill until the next AGM any vacancies which arise during the year, and authorise not more than two of its members (in addition to the Treasurer and Secretary) to sign cheques pursuant to Rule 4.5.
  11. Rules to be made or modified by a simple majority resolution at the AGM and separately printed shall (subject to this Constitution) govern the proceedings of the Executive Committee, the terms of membership of the Association and the management of its finances and accounts.
  12. Alterations to this Constitution must receive the assent of two-thirds of the members present and voting at an AGM or an EGM. No alteration shall be made which would have the effect of causing the Association to cease to be a charity at law.
  13. The Association may be dissolved by a motion passed by a two-thirds majority of those present and voting at an EGM convened for the purpose. Such motion shall give instructions for the disposal of any assets held by or in the name of the Association provided that if any property remains after the satisfaction of all debts and liabilities such property shall not be paid to or distributed among members of the Association but shall be given or transferred to some other charitable institution or institutions having objects similar to some or all of the objects of the Association.